Advertisement Close

Book Club with Kamila Shamsie

Date/Time
Date(s) - 11/29/2022
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

0
Add This to Your Calendar

Categories

Cost:
9 USD
Contact Person:

Email:

Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/book-club-with-kamila-shamsie-tickets-444521314217?aff=ebdssbonlinesearch&keep_tld=1
Phone:

Organization:


Shamsie’s seventh novel, Home Fire is a modern-day retelling of Sophocles’s Antigone. It follows Isma, the older sibling of three, who is finally free to follow her dream of studying in America. But she cannot stop worrying about her sister Aneeka, who still lives in London, or their brother Parvaiz, who has secretly travelled to Syria to work with Islamic State fighters.

A powerful exploration of the clash between society, family and religious faith, the novel won the 2018 Women’s prize for fiction. The judges said: “[it is] funny and exact about the Muslim experience, what it means to be challenged on your identity, what it means choosing between public and private”.

Shamsie will be in conversation with Charlotte Higgins, the Guardian’s chief culture writer and the author of Greek Myths, and she’ll be answering your questions too. This event is part of our online Book Club series, in which leading writers discuss their best-loved novels and the creative process. And because it’s a book club, there might be spoilers…

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Zoom, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

Closed captions will be available for this event.

8pm GMT | 9pm CET | 12pm PST | 3pm EST

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

Map Unavailable