Advertisement Close

Iraqi Book Club | I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody

Iraqi Book Club | I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody

Date/Time
Date(s) - 07/26/2022
1:30 pm

0
Add This to Your Calendar

Categories

Cost:
Free USD
Contact Person:
Christina
Email:

Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/iraqi-book-club-ijaam-an-iraqi-rhapsody-tickets-357812034427?aff=ebdssbonlinesearch&keep_tld=1
Phone:

Organization:


ONLINE EVENT

Together, we share our ✨ stories about Iraq and meet new people in a supportive environment. We do this by talking about books.

About this event

We are a community group of people who have a relationship with Iraq. Some of us were born there, some of our parents were born there, some have lived and worked there and some are just curious.

Together, we aim to share our ✨ stories about Iraq and meet new people in a supportive environment. We do this by talking about books.

We talk about books written by Iraqi authors, both 📚 non-fiction and fiction. We like to read traditionally 💪 minority voices, like those of women, religious minorities and people who are queer. We do this so we can get the full picture of what it means to live in 🇮🇶 Iraq.

We meet every other month online to learn and get to know new people. Every so often we have a get-together in person somewhere in the UK. All sessions are appropriate for anyone with an open mind and heart, of any ethnicity and background!

____

 

BOOK OF THE MONTH | I’jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody – Sinan Antoon

An inventory of the General Security headquarters in central Baghdad reveals an obscure manuscript.

Written by a young man in detention, the prose moves from prison life, to adolescent memories, to frightening hallucinations, and what emerges is a portrait of life in Saddam Hussein’s Iraq.

In the tradition of Kafka’s The Trial or Orwell’s 1984, I’jaam offers insight into life under an oppressive political regime and how that oppression works. This is a stunning debut by a major young Iraqi writer-in-exile.

💪 Join us to chat about our responses to these writings and (if we have them our own dreams for the future of Iraq

__

Previous Reads:

– The Beekeper of Sinjar by Dunya Mikhail

– Cultural Cleansing in Iraq: Why Museums Were Looted, Libraries Burned and Academics Murdered by Raymond W. Baker, Shereen T. Ismael, Tareq Y. Ismael

– The American Granddaughter – Inaam Kachachi AND Iraqi Odyssey (documentary)

– The Watermelon Boys – Ruqaya Izzidien

– The Orange Trees of Baghdad – Leilah Nadir

– Women on a Journey: Between Baghdad and London – Haifa Zangana

 

Iraqi Book Club |  I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody image
Map Unavailable