Advertisement Close

Events

Master Class: Drawing Moroccan Geometric Patterns (AS/AUS/EU Time Zones)

By: | posted on: Jul 4, 2020

Master Class: Drawing Moroccan Geometric Patterns (AS/AUS/EU Time Zones)

Date/Time
Date(s) - 07/04/2020
5:00 am - 7:00 am

0
Add This to Your Calendar

Categories

Cost:
$25-$40 USD
Contact Person:

Email:

Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/master-class-drawing-moroccan-geometric-patterns-asauseu-time-zones-tickets-109847871942?aff=ebdssbonlinesearch
Phone:

Organization:
VAWAA


Master Class: Drawing Moroccan Geometric Patterns (AS/AUS/EU Time Zones)

oin VAWAA Artist and multidisciplinary craftsman Hamza for a 2-hour long sacred Moroccan geometric patterns drawing master class on Saturday, July 4th, at 5am New York time. That is 11am in Paris, 2:30pm in Mumbai, 5pm in Singapore, and 7pm in Sydney. We’ll use compass and ruler to construct a pattern frequently found in Fes which appeared in the 14th Century. It is notably seen in the 18th Century public fountain of the Rcif Market in the old medina.

Joining us from a different time zone? Be sure to convert the time at: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html?iso=20200704T090000&p1=tz_et

What you’ll need

A compass, pencil, ruler, paper (A4 or A3), eraser, sharpener, and coloring pencils.

How to join

We’ll be hosting this VAWAA Online on Zoom. We’ll send you the link and details to join via email a few hours before it begins.

About Hamza

Hamza is an Andalusian Oud musician, a geometer, brass-smith, bookbinder, paper-maker, paper-marbler and founder of a crafts studio dedicated to Moroccan arts and crafts in Fes. He comes from a multigenerational family of artisans and passing on crafts knowledge is a family culture. He apprenticed under his father and traveled around 15 countries crafting and learning from masters. Now his mission is to continue this legacy and help people around the world connect with old Moroccan crafts. His traditional art revolves around the art of Compass & Ruler. With those two instruments, he draws and traces Moorish and Islamic geometric patterns, etches and engraves them on brass and copper trays and embosses them on leather book covers.

Visit his artist page to learn more about his in-person VAWAA: https://vawaa.com/artists/hamza-islamic-geometry-brass-etching-bookbinding-morocco

Sessions are ticketed to support artists, makers and our small team. If you’re experiencing financial hardship, please reach out. We may have a generous participant who has paid it forward and would ask that you pay the love forward by sharing online sessions with 3 new friends.

Map Unavailable