Advertisement Close

Public Health and the Promise of Palestine

Date/Time
Date(s) - 04/08/2021
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

0
Add This to Your Calendar

Categories

Cost:
0 USD
Contact Person:

Email:

Website:
https://act.jewishvoiceforpeace.org/a/public-health-palestine-webinar-04082021?emci=d7d4a0bd-838b-eb11-85aa-00155d43c992&emdi=1f524dc8-f78f-eb11-85aa-00155d43c992&ceid=38230
Phone:

Organization:
Jewish Voice of Peace


ONLINE

In this talk, public health scholar, epidemiologist, and pharmacist, Dr. Danya Qato, will speak to the limits and possibilities of public health practice, research, and advocacy in Palestine that have come under increased attention during the Covid-19 pandemic. The talk will emphasize foundational questions that have often been sidelined in the public health discourse – including the enduring role of settler-colonialism, racism, and capitalism in shaping the health of Palestinians and in the practice of public health in Palestine.
Date: Thursday April 8th
Time: 5pm PT / 7pm CT / 8pm ET
Danya M. Qato, PharmD, MPH, PhD, is an assistant professor of epidemiology and health policy based in Baltimore, Maryland. In the 2015–16 academic year, she was a Fulbright Scholar and professor at the Institute of Community and Public Health at Birzeit University in Palestine.

This event is cosponsored by the Institute for Palestine Studies.

Suggested readings ahead of the webinar: 
Map Unavailable