Advertisement Close

Sarfraz Manzoor: What Muslims and Non-Muslims Get Wrong About Each Other

Sarfraz Manzoor: What Muslims and Non-Muslims Get Wrong About Each Other

Date/Time
Date(s) - 09/10/2021
All Day

0
Add This to Your Calendar

Categories

Cost:
USD
Contact Person:

Email:

Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/sarfraz-manzoor-what-muslims-and-non-muslims-get-wrong-about-each-other-tickets-161207143907?aff=ebdssbonlinesearch&keep_tld=1
Phone:

Organization:


ONLINE

Journalist, author, screenwriter and broadcaster Sarfraz Manzoor will be joining us for a livestreamed event to talk about his new book.

About this event

 

Having grown up in a working-class Pakistani Muslim family in Luton, Manzoor was raised to believe that they were different, that they would never accept him. They were white people. In today’s deeply divided Britain, where right-wing populist and xenophobic rhetoric reins over tolerance, and misinformation spreads faster than fact, we are often told that the they are Muslims.

 

THEY: What Muslims and Non-Muslims Get Wrong About Each Other is the powerful and inspiring new book from Manzoor. In it, he intricately weaves together history, reportage and memoir to paint a vivid and often moving portrait of Britain as never before. Tackling “otherness” and notions of belonging, as well as the myth of British identity, Manzoor searches for the roots of division, explores how Islam is a more tolerant and progressive faith than commonly assumed, and embarks on a journey for a more positive future.

 

Join him, in conversation with the Guardian’s Claire Armitstead, as he puts forward his fiercely urgent and profoundly personal story of modern Britain.

 

Running time: 60 minutes

If you live in the United Kingdom, you can purchase a ticket with a copy of THEY: What Muslims and Non-Muslims Get Wrong About Each Other at checkout for the special combined price of £21 including postage and packing (RRP £20).

Closed captions will be available for this event. To make use of this function, click the globe icon at the bottom of your screen once you have logged in to the event.

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Intrado, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event.

After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

 

 

This event is being streamed globally.

8pm BST | 9pm CEST | 12pm PDT | 3pm EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

 

Map Unavailable