Advertisement Close

ADC-MI Announces MLK Scholarship Winners

posted on: Jan 17, 2008

ADC Michigan’s Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Program began nine years ago. ADC believed it was important to implement a program which would not only honor one of our nation’s greatest civil rights leaders but also carry his message to the Arab and Chaldean communities in metro Detroit. Thus was born a program that provides the recipients with college funding to help them learn more about the ongoing struggle for civil rights.

This year’s winners will be honored at ADC Michigan ‘s 9th Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Awards Dinner on Friday, January 25, 2007 at 6:00 PM at the Byblos Banquet Hall in Dearborn. Dr. Ben Chavis, President & CEO of the Hip Hop Music Summit Action Network in America will be the keynote speaker. For more information on the MLK contest, or the Scholarship Dinner, visit , or call 313-581-1201.

This year, entries reached record numbers and were received from all parts of the State; a sign of the successful expansion of this program and people’s genuine interest in it. This year’s honorees are:

First Place Award
Abbas Alawieh, Fordson High School – Dearborn , MI

Second Place Award Winner
Laura Neme, Crestwood High School- Dearborn Heights, MI

Third Place Award Winner
Matthew Pauls, Troy High School- Troy, MI

Fourth Place Award Winner
Badrea L. Elder, Dearborn High School- Dearborn, MI

Fifth Place Award Winner
Lara Khadr, Ann Arbor Huron High School- Ypsilanti, MI


Fatima Fahs, Andover High School- Bloomfield Hills, MI

Sana Alsamarae, Fordson High School- Dearborn, MI

Mohsin Aljabaly, Universal Academy- Detroit, MI

Matthew Sabah Hermez Acho, Andover High School- Bloomfield Hills, MI

Zeinab Moubadder, Star International Academy- Dearborn, MI

Ayat Hassan, Star International Academy- Dearborn, MI

Reem Salman, Dearborn High School- Dearborn, MI

Stephanie Carmen Yassine, Edsel Ford High School- Dearborn, MI


In addition to this year’s scholarship recipients, ADC is pleased to announce this year’s special awardees:

Nawal Hamadeh will receive the Educator of the Year Award for her contributions to education. Ms. Hamadeh is the Founder and President of Hamadeh Educational Services, Inc. and the Founder, Superintendent and CEO of Star International Academy.

Melinda Bazzy (17) will receive the Young Leadership Award for her efforts to enhance awareness about autism.

The Tae Kwan Doe Champion students from the Koubeissi Tae Kwan Doe School in Dearborn will receive the Young Achievement Award. These students recently participated in the Las Vegas Open Tae Kwon Doe Championship, an international tournament that hosted approximately 50 countries. The four students collectively received a total of eight medals for their exceptional skills.

ADC Michigan would like to extend its sincere appreciation to the sponsors of the 9th Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Awards Dinner. This year’s sponsors include DTE Energy, The Skillman Foundation, Meijer, U.S. Army National Guard, Ford Motor Company, Chrysler, Enterprise Rent-a-Car, DRS, Inc., CIA, Qatar Petroleum, General Motors, CVS/Pharmacy, Wal-Mart, U.S. Army, Star International Academy, Henry Ford Community College, Comcast, Huntington Bank, BP Armada Oil and Gas, and AT&T. This is only a partial list of sponsors; ADC thanks all of the sponsors for their generous support.